Arrr, y'all

Fun, Sweet, Scary and finally, Totally Bizarre.

Birthday party #8 (I count baby shower as #1) was a success.  A fire pit drove off the chill, the kids tore around the back lot, s’mores cake and s’mores ice cream were had by all, parents chatted, and since most of the kids were hippie children, the presents were lovely, hand-made things and really good books.  I always look forward to the singing, too. Since so many of our parents and kids are musically talented, the harmonizing is over the top.  It’s like being with my musical family again.

During my sixth birthday party, my folksinger grandfather burst through the door singing happy birthday and playing on my late grandmother’s autoharp.  At the end of the song he knelt and gently placed the harp in my arms.  An amazing instrument, passed on from the Blue whose ashes had been scattered, to the little Blue who had inherited her spirit.  May I pass it on in turn.

On a different note, there was a neo-nazi rally today in Kentucky’s capital, Frankfort.  I was on birthday duty, but a group I belong to, Louisville SURJ (Showing Up for Racial Justice) was, and my church sent a few, too.  It is not an easy thing, to face these people, and I’m proud of my friends and all who stood up to the bullies today.

And on an even more different note … the other day I was with a client, and we got to talking about our weeks.  This woman, a prim Catholic grandmother, says, “Oh, I forgot to tell you, the best part of the weekend was having a sex party for my youngest daughter!”

!!!!????

When my jaw returned from the floor, I told myself, well, you really can’t judge a book by its cover, can you.  Dude, her daughter is PREGNANT.  They were guessing the sex of the baby.

Leave a Reply

